Chapter 34 – Three Years Later

“I don’t like him,” Trebor said, keeping his voice low so only Braylin would hear him. They were standing to the side as Lonnie introduced Marcy’s father to their parents. 

“Is your overprotective big brother mode kicking in?” Brayling teased giving him a soft kiss on the cheek.

“Probably,” he grunted, keeping his eyes on the older dark haired man as he talked to Verity. Even after all these years Trebor knew who he was. Lonnie had her bedroom walls plastered with his posters. He was once every preteen girl’s dream from his days in a popular boy band to his solo career. “He was in prison…”

Putting an arm around Trebor, pulling him close “for a crime he didn’t commit. He thought he was protecting Lonnie.”

“It didn’t work,” Trebor muttered leaning into Braylin like he wanted to melt into him. Lonnie had told him the story including how she had a one night stand with Barrett that had resulted in Marcy’s conception. How she knew Barrett had denied other women’s claims to have had his child and how cold and ruthless he was in dispatching them. She hadn’t told him she was pregnant. Hadn’t meant for him to find out but he found out from the guy who had framed him. No Barrett wasn’t someone he wanted his sister to be with.

“Hey,” Braylin tilted Trebor’s chin upwards, searching his face. He could see the anxiety building behind his eyes, he could feel the tension in his boy. “Is this just about Barrett or is it something more? Is this too much for you?”

Trebor’s eyes locked with Braylin’s. He wanted to deny that he wasn’t becoming anxious but Braylin knew him too well. “Can we go outside? I just need some air.”

“Sure,” he gave a gentle smile, taking his hand and guiding him to the back door in the kitchen. It had taken them three years to pick up the pieces after Kara had shattered their lives. Still there were times that it felt like it just happened yesterday. 

Closing the door behind them, Braylin pulled Trebor close, just holding him. When he felt some of the tension release from his body Bray asked “want to tell me what you’re thinking? Feeling?”

Sighing Trebor leaned into Braylin as if he needed the reassurance of his touch. “I’m okay really. I just needed some air…”

Brayling raised an eyebrow “you can tell me if you’re not okay.” There had been a time when they had trouble sharing their feelings. They both tried to shield the other from their problems, afraid to overburden the other. “I’m always here for you. No matter what.”

“I know,” Trebor pressed his lips against the skin just beneath Bray’s chin. “I love you.”

Chuckling a little “tell me something I don’t know.”

“I would but you seem to know everything,” he pretended to pout.

Poking a finger at Trebor’s nose, Bray shook his head “not everything.” He let his hands wander down Trebor’s body stopping at the hem of his shirt. His fingers slipped beneath skimming the smooth warm skin and the rippling muscles responding to his touch.

“What don’t you know?” Trebor asked between kisses leading up to Bray’s lips.

“Like where are we going to find some privacy for us to be together with a houseful of family.” His hands were exploring Trebor’s chest and stomach now, pulling his shirt ever higher even as their bodies pressed closer together leaving no doubt they both needed some release.

“We’re alone now,” Trevor’s voice was weak with need as his hands trailed down Bray’s body like he was feeling it for the first time. 

Smirking a little as he smiled down into Trebor’s lustful gaze “anyone could see us? Our neighbors, someone could come outside…” His breath caught in his throat as he felt Trebor’s searching hands as they sought his zipper.

“Let them watch,” Trebor said close to Braylin’s ear as he released him from his jeans.

“Are you sure?” Braylin asked before he lost himself to the moment.

“Positive,” Trebor brushed his lips across Braylin’s, nipping at his bottom lip. “I need you…”

Groaning a little, Braylin leaned Trebor back, guiding him to the ground, kissing him deeply. “If it becomes too much all you have to do is tell me…”

Trebor whimpered with neediness, “just kiss me and take me far away from here.”

“Baby I’ll take you anywhere you want to go,” he promised.

***

“There you are,” Lonnie exclaimed as soon as they stepped into the kitchen. “What were you doing out there?” Without waiting for a response she turned to the man at her side “I want you to meet Barrett.” She gave the older man adoring smile

Trebro couldn’t deny the fondness he saw reflected back in the man’s eyes as he gazed down into his sister’s eyes. Still he couldn’t help but wonder he saw in a girl more than ten years his junior. Shrugging he forced a smile to his lips “it’s nice to meet you,” he took the offered hand trying not to grimace when the other man took it.

Sensing Trebor’s discomfort Braylin put an arm around his shoulders. You better watch yourself,” he teased “or Trebor and I might have to beat you up if our girl isn’t happy.”

Barrett gave them a woeful smile “don’t worry I aim to keep her happy. I’ve had plenty of time to think about what I want and don’t aim on messing it up this time.”

“I hope so,” Lonnie said glaring at him, “you won’t get another chance.”

Pulling Lonnie close Barrett stared into her eyes a moment. Nodding his head as if he had found all the answers to all the questions that had eluded him till now he said. “I think I’m a lot more worried about what you’ll do to me than what either your brother or parents will do to me if I mess this up. You’ve given me something that I never thought I ever wanted.”

“Which is what exactly?” Trebor asked, interjecting the question as if he knew it would pull them apart.

Lonnie rolled her eyes “here it comes. The whole big brother act.”

“It’s not an act,” he snapped, “ I need to know he’s going to take care of you and Marcy.”

“You don’t have to worry about me,” she huffed, lifting her chin upwards as if daring him to challenge her. “I can take care of myself.”

Looking between the two siblings Bray knew neither one was going to back down. “That’s not what he’s saying,” adding before Trebor could contradict him “we know you’re capable of taking care of yourself besides I’m Barrett has heard this all from your parents.”

“You can say that again,” Barrett enthused, “your mom is a little scary. I wouldn’t want to be on her bad side.”

“See,” Lonnie raised an eyebrow at her brother, her eyes holding a silent challenge.

“Fine,” Trebor rolled his eyes. “I guess I’m very good at the whole big brother intimidation routine anyway.” He started to turn away, his shoulders slumping in defeat. 

“Hey,” Lonnie reached out a hand touching his shoulder “You’re a great big brother. I just don’t need protecting.”

Trebor lifted troubled blue eyes that reminded Braylin of a cloudy sky on a windy day. His lips twitched before he managed a lopsided smile. “Yeah. Alright.” He gave Barrett a firm look “but I reserve the right to kick his butt if he doesn’t treat you well.”

“You’ll have to stand in line,” she giggled wrapping an arm around Barrett “I get firsties.”

Shaking his head Barrett had an uncertain look in his eyes “I don’t know if I should be scared or glad that I belong to a family like this.”

“Be glad,” Braylin advised “I know I am.”

“It’s good advice,” Garrett said, coming into the room leaning heavily on his cane. “I’d take it too if I were you.”

“Dad, should you be up?” Trebor asked, rushing to his side.

Waving his son’s hands away, “I’m fine,” he sounded somewhat irritated “I’m tired of sitting. It feels good to be up on my feet again.” Garrett knew they all worried about him. It had been a rough three years and two surgeries since he was shot. But somehow he had managed to get out of his wheelchair and learned to walk again even if it were for short amounts of time. “Your mother wants to know if she should start dinner.”

“I thought we were going to order in,” Lonnie said.

“It thought we were grilling,” Trebor said “I have the streak already marinating. All we need is for Bray to start the grill.”

“Isn’t that what you were doing outside,” Barrett asked, frowning in concern when Trebor’s face turned a brilliant shade of red.

“Fresh air my ass,” Lonnie giggled “you just couldn’t wait to be alone.”

“Err,” Trebor opened the fridge hoping to hide his face and the cool air was welcome on his flushed skin. “I’ll get the salad ready,” he announced, trying to ignore all the knowing looks and giggles behind his back.

“Well I hope you remember to wash your hands,” Verity deadpanned to the delight and amusement of everyone in the room.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 34 – Three Years Later

Leave a comment