Chapter 37 – Honeymoon

“Penny for your thoughts,” Braylin murmured as he pressed his lips against Trebor’s cheek. 

Taking his eyes from the setting sun Trebor glanced over at his husband. A contented smile spread across his face “have I told you how thankful I am to have you in my life?”

Chuckling softly, Braylin wrapped an arm around Trebor, pulling him close. “I do recall you saying something like that when we got married. But I don’t mind hearing it again.”

Trebor lifted his left hand, letting the setting sun sparkle on his ring. “Best day ever,” he sighed like a contented cat leaning into Bray who was looking down at him eyes sparkling almost as much as the ring 

“I can make this day even better,” Braylin said waggling his eyebrows at Trebor

“Not out here, in the sand,” Trebor protested halfheartedly, pushing Bray’s hands away from the elastic waistband of his shorts.

An eyebrow rose as Braylin considered his words “I remember a time when a little sand didn’t bother you.” He lent forward, bruising his lips across Trebor’s muffling his ready protest.

Breaking the kiss even though he was panting for more. “I was younger than. A little sand in unmentionable places didn’t matter.”

Putting a finger beneath Trebor’s chin, he gently lifted it upward. “I’ll make you think you’re on a featherbed.”

“Oh really?” he asked, almost daring him to try and hoping he would.

Smirking a little when Trebor gasped in need as Bray’s fingers reached their goal. “You’re putty in my hands.”

Leaning into Bray, cheeks flushed as desire all but wiped out the knowledge they could be seen by anyone walking the beach. With the last semblance of self control ebbed away he whispered “not here. Someone might see.”

Sweeping Trebor into his arms “you’ll never change.”

Trebor wrapped his arms around Bray’s neck pressing his flushed face against Bray’s chest listening to the sound of his heart. “Would you want me to change?”

“Nope,” he shook his head walking towards a spot where he and Trebor had used a few years before for the same activity as now. It wasn’t exactly private but it was out of the line of sight from any casual beach walkers.

***

Sometime later Trebor lay on the cooling sand, snug in Bray’s arms staring up at the twinkling night sky. His fingers drew lazy circles in Bray’s chest and stomach, his ring catching the light of the light of the moon.

A happy contented smile stretched his lips. Moments like this he couldn’t believe how wonderful his life had turned out to be. He was married to the love of his life. This was the honeymoon he had dreamed about. It wasn’t anything extravagant. They both wanted a simple ceremony on the beach with their closest friends and family. Their son held the rings for them. Perfect.

He waved Bray’s hand away when it came up to boop his nose. “I wish this moment could last forever.”

“I thought you didn’t like sand in unmentionable places,” Bray teased, rolling over to gaze into Trebor’s eyes. 

His lips twitched a little “I’ve kind of gotten used to it; although a nice long shower would be good.”

“Want some company?” Bray asked.

Trebor could see desire light up Bray’s eyes and he felt a thrill run through his body. “You’re insatiable,” he chuckled while sitting up.

“It’s all your fault,” Bray accused light and teasing “always walking around with barely anything on. Showing so much skin.”

Shrugging, “why should I bother dressing when you’re just going to undress me,” he huffed.

Braylin’s eyes followed him as he stood up silhouetted against the night sky. “Beautiful,” he breathed, tempted to pull Trebor back down to the sand and ravish all over again. “Maybe you should make it a challenge for me.”

Raising an eyebrow “so it’s my fault you can’t keep your hands to yourself.” As he finished speaking he pulled his shorts up.

Nodding Brayling grabbed his own shorts and shoved his legs into them. “It kind of is.”

Mumbling something beneath his breath Trebor started to walk away. 

Hurrying up beside him “don’t go away mad.” 

“Who says I’m mad?” Trebor huffed.

“Well you look mad,” he said contritely. “Please don’t go away upset. Not when we only have a couple days left.”

They both knew after they picked up Blake from his grandparents they’d have precious little alone time before Bray would have to leave to practice for the beginning of hockey season. 

“I’m not mad,” Trebor repeated in a tense brittle voice.

“You sound mad.”

“Well I’m not,” Trebor snapped glancing over at his husband walking beside him. “Do you think I’m cheap?”

“That is the furthest thing from my mind,” he reached out, grabbing Trebor’s hand and turning him around. “You drive me wild no matter what you wear,” he paused before adding with a slight smirk “or don’t wear.”

“You’re incorrigible,” Trebor groaned “you’d probably say a look good in a burlap sack.” 

“Especially,” Braylin laughed at the bewildered half exasperated expression on Trebor’s face. “I love you. That’s all I need to know to make me crazy about you.”

***

The early morning sun shone bright through the half open curtains to fall full onto Bray’s face. Moaning, he covered his face with his hands mumbling, “we forgot again.” They’d forgotten every night of their honeymoon. It wasn’t something they ever worried about in Boroughsburg. In the city the tall buildings cut off direct sunlight from entering into their windows. “Trebor,” he reached for the otherside of the bed, his grasping hand coming up empty, confirming that he was alone.

Sitting up, the blankets falling around his waist. He sensed that something was weighing heavily on his mind but he didn’t want to pressure him into talking before he was ready. As their honeymoon came to a close he knew he’d have to broach the subject.

Shuffling across the room he retrieved his shorts from the day before. Chuckling to himself as he imagined Trebor’s reaction when he saw him in yesterday’s clothes, well shorts. Opening the door he went in search of his husband.

“Morning sleepy head,” Trebor greeted him when Bray stepped outside where he had been watching a couple of seagulls fight over a fish. 

“Have you eaten yet?” Bray asked, leaning down kissing the top of Trebor’s head. 

“Not yet,” he glanced up smiling “I was waiting for you to get up to make breakfast.”

Braylin saw the unasked question in Trebor’s eyes and said “we forgot to close the curtains last night.” They both knew he was not a morning person.

“Oh,” Trebor’s cheeks flushed with color “we were kind of distracted…”

Sitting down he said “I’m not complaining.” Bray’s eyes flashed with amusement and was half tempted to resume where they left off the night before.

“You’re insatiable,” Trebor playfully slapped his shoulder. “What would you like for breakfast?” He asked to change the subject.

“Let’s go out to eat,” Bray suggested. “Then we could stop by that house we both like on our way back.” 

Trebor’s eyes became troubled “are you sure you want to do that?”

“I’m positive,” he took Trebor’s hands in his “We can’t continue to stay at your parents or here. It was nice of your grandparents to lend us their home for our honeymoon but we do need our own place.”

“I didn’t mean that,” he cried “I meant here…to the island. You’re giving up so much for me.”

Lifting Trebor’s hand to his lips he placed a kiss on it. “There’s nothing I want more than to see you happy and being able to pursue your dream of being a doctor. I want you to take the position at the hospital.”

Trebor blinked several times as if he were fighting back tears. “It’s everything I ever wanted but I can’t help but feel I’m forcing you to give up the things you love.”

“I’m not going to lie and say it’s going to be easy but we can make it work. But let’s face it, my career is coming to an end,” there was a note of sadness is his voice.

“You’re not even 30 yet,” Trebor blurted, knowing he had just celebrated his 30th birthday a few days before their wedding and Bray was a year younger than him.

“And that’s old for a professional hockey player,” Bray chuckled. “Of course there have been older players but I want to retire with all my teeth thank you very much.”

“Have you thought about what you’ll do after you retire?” Trebor asked, having not realized how short Bray’s career would be.

“I have made enquiries with the local schools on the island to see if they could use a coach,” smiling he added with the old teasing tone “or maybe I’ll just be a stay at home dad.”

“I wouldn’t mind having you around all the time,” Trebor said. He hated the idea of all the time they would be separated when Bray went back to Boroughsburg to start training for the hockey season.

“You might get tired of me,” Braylin cautioned.

Shaking his head Trebor said “never.” He stood to go inside and change only to have Bray grab his hand and pull him back down.

“You can’t get away from me so easily,” he pressed his lips to Trebors giving him a heated kiss that stoked both their desires.

Once they tore their lips apart Trebor said “if you keep that up we won’t make it for breakfast.”

“Then we’ll just have lunch instead,” his hands already busy removing the obstructing clothing on his husband’s body.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 37 – Honeymoon

Leave a comment